For the love of squash…

Spaghetti Squash

Dear sweet baby Jesus, I’d like to welcome a new vegetable into my life. The spaghetti squash. So good, it’ll make you kick yourself.

Ingredients~

1 spaghetti squash (they’re yellow)

2-3 lemons

water

garlic powder

sea salt

pesto sauce

grated Parmesan cheese

casserole dish

Directions~

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Squeeze two lemons into your casserole dish and pick out the seeds. Pour enough water into the dish to make at least an inch of liquid. Then sprinkle enough garlic powder to coat the top layer of liquid, and do the same with the sea salt. (Though this can be more about preference.) Set aside.

About this squash…? Its a toughie. When I first tried to cut it, I almost broke my friends knife. Try not to do that, probably wouldn’t be in your best interest. Poke a bunch of tiny holes all over your squash then place in the microwave for a minute to a minute and a half. That should make it easier for you to cut length ways, or as my step-mom told me, “butt to nipple”. (On a side note, she is the first person to have ever made me spaghetti squash. I was in love with it from the start.) Once you get it open (which by the way, I didn’t do, my friend and her amazing strength succeeded), scoop out the insides with a spoon. It happens to look like the innards of a pumpkin. Place meat down in the casserole dish and place in oven. Proceed to walk around your kitchen looking at various objects of interest for 30-45 minutes.

The time on cooking spaghetti squash is variable to the squash. You know it is done when you poke it with a knife and it’s very easy to do. If it isn’t, continue to pace around the kitchen but in more of a bad mood because you can now smell the tasty concoction you have made.

Once done, pull out of the oven and grab one of the halves with a dish towel (or something that won’t let it burn your hand) and scrape the insides with a fork. This should give you the pretty spaghetti effect. A half of a spaghetti squash is enough food to fill two people’s stomachs. Continue by stirring in pesto sauce and grated cheese to your liking. I also sprinkled more garlic powder over it for good measure.

So good. Seriously, my friend and her family want me to come over and cook all of the time for them. I was so entranced by my meal that I forgot to take a picture of the final project. But who can blame me? When you’re hungry. Food is the number one priority.

Enjoy [:

This entry was published on January 13, 2012 at 12:07 am. It’s filed under Blog, Cooking, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

