What’s in a ring?

I recently acquired the second engagement ring my father ever gave my mother. They’re been divorced for a while, since I was two to be exact and my mother had been holding on to it for when I turned twenty-one. The first she had made into a necklace and gave to me for my eighteenth birthday, its beautiful and I love it. However, since she is now getting married in October, she felt it was necessary to give it to me early.

 

 

I have never felt more touched by these two pieces of jewelry. While my mom says it pains her to have, it is the complete opposite for me. I have no delusions, I have no wish for my mom and dad to get back together, in fact it’s better for both of them that they are apart. But the fact that I have something that my dad gave to my mom and she in turn gave to me touches my heart. My parents don’t get along, at all, but this ring, in my eyes, represents that we are still a family. No matter how much they don’t want it, we will always be a family. They will always be my parents and they’re just going to have to live with that.

 

As I look at it now, I think about my future, and what it will be like when I have a husband and child of my own. I have no desire for this right now but when I think about it, it makes me happy. Even though my parents don’t love or even like each other any more, they love me. Because of this shared love, they have always and will always be there for me no matter what. Such an unconditional thing is beautiful. Even with split parents, I like to think I turned out alright, I might even be great sometimes.

 

Call me silly, but wearing this ring, and constantly seeing it, makes me feel like everything is okay. Like I don’t have to worry about anything because its a constant reminder of the unconditional, never ending love my wonderful father and mother have for me, and for that I’m thankful.

 

This entry was published on October 1, 2013 at 9:37 pm. It’s filed under Blog, Family, Love, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

